A lovely sunset to cheer us all up

The weather is pretty dismal in the North East at the moment – well it is July after all – so I thought I’d share these sunset photos taken last Friday from just south of Durham city:

The sky started to turn peachy. Five minutes after I took this photo the clouds in all directions turned a soft pink.

The way the sun catches the edge of these clouds, which are otherwise in deep shadow creates an eery feeling.

Now the clouds are enveloped in an orange halo. The vertical light is a sun pillar – this one lasted at least 20 minutes.

One good thing about unsettled weather is that you can get some good clouds in between the showers. Hopefully this week won’t be a complete wash out!

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Cloudspotting, Out and about and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

