Towering giants (or: the wonder of clouds)

It might have been cold recently, but we’ve been treated to some good clouds if you like that sort of thing. Unsettled weather is brilliant for cloudspotting: as the clouds build and pass overhead you get to see them at their magnificent best. Here are some cumulonimbus towers that passed over Durham during September and October, all seen from my back garden:

a beautiful cumulonimbus tower basking in the autumn sun

a close up of the tower

This cloud was much bigger and producing rain. I took the photo from the same spot but it is much further away:

how many cloud shapes can you spot?

a close up

This final cloud had a very oppressive feel. Here the anvil is directly overhead and the light is reflecting on the cloud’s underbelly. A couple of minutes after I took this photo the sky turned to night and the heavens opened!

the underbelly of a cumulonimus cloud, just before it started chucking it down!

All this unsettled weather has also produced lots of rainbows, but as they were all accompanied by rain I just enjoyed them and left my camera tucked up inside.

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Cloudspotting, In the garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

