Snow days

 

So it’s November and we have about a foot of snow in Durham, and no sign of a thaw. I like snow, but the wildlife and garden don’t. Lazy gardeners like me will have been caught out. We don’t normally get snow in the UK until after Christmas, so my beds are unmulched and overwintering seeds are unplanted.

These are minor setbacks compared to what the weather means for our wildlife. Winter berries are being eaten now that would normally stay on the trees until mid to late winter. Bad times ahead I fear…

So far I haven’t seen much change in the garden. The birds that do visit are visiting more often, but I’m not getting huge increases in the number of visitors. This may change as the freeze drags on!

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in In the garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

