and then the wind changed

Today the wind direction changed, and boy did we know about it.

Sunrise this morning

The snowy weather has so far been arriving from the North East coast. This has brought constant snow showers as cumulonimbus clouds form and bubble over the North Sea and glide overland to shed their load of hail and snow. The weather has been cold for sure, but the wind has been fairly benign and the showers short lived.

Snow cloud, freshly formed over the North Sea, sheds its load over County Durham

Today the wind has changed direction. Instead of virgin clouds, we have the dregs of the snowstorms pummelling the West. Today’s clouds formed off the West Coast, dumped their loads over Cumbria and the North Pennines, and developed into thick, impenetrable stratus. Dull but very very cold and with a wicked bone chilling wind. This morning’s beautiful clear sunrise now felt like a distant broken promise.

I returned to the farmyard this afternoon to see if I could capture the yellowhammers and skylarks I’d seen yesterday. I only managed to stand there for eight minutes it was that cold. There seemed to be less birds today, mainly thanks to the farmer leaving a trail of spilt barley allowing the birds to spread out.

skylarks

yellowhammer

the farmer's barley store with yellowhammers in the foreground

I’m not sure what the weather’s going to bring tomorrow, but I’m certain it is going to be cold!

Murky stratus clouds making the view of Durham cathedral a dull one

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Out and about and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

