Sunrise and sunset

Sunrise this morning

Today was a treat for two reasons: we had both a sunrise and sunset, and I was actually up and out of the house in time to see both.

I can’t think of many reasons to enjoy the short winter days, but for a lay-in-bed like me I at least get to see some decent sunrises. I was out of the house at 8.00am. I missed the blazing orange of first sunrise of course, but I enjoyed my early morning walk nonetheless. And for all you early starters out there, just think on this: I was up before the birds.

It was only once the sun was above the horizon at around 8.30am that the birds became noticeable. A large flock of goldfinches was gathering along a row of front gardens. Only a few hundred yards from my own house, but none of these birds visit me!

During the day the ice and snow started to melt – at last! Most of the icicles have gone but the thaw has only just begun. The reed buntings were back, and so were the yellowhammers. I think I saw three, and finally I got a photo. Not the best I grant you, but evidence they really are visiting.

Yellowhammer: photo taken from my bedroom window!

The light started to fade at 2.00pm. I was treated to rows of fluffy white altocumulus clouds. By 3.00pm the sun was starting to set. Altocumulus make lovely sunsets, and this afternoon was no exception. A real treat!

Altocumulus clouds just before sunset, I mean, at 2.00pm!

Altocumulus make great sunsets. The glowing pink patches are virga - precipitation that fails to reach the ground

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Cloudspotting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

