Lapwing Wars

Walking this afternoon in East Durham I came across some ploughed fields and my first sight this year of displaying lapwings.

Making the familiar pee-wit call for most of the year, the lapwing display call is very different: unforgettable, but very difficult to describe: the closest thing I can think of (but actually nowhere near) is a bicycle pump, the sound being sucked in and out. I found myself surrounded by lapwings.

I’ve seen displaying lapwings before. They fly around and around their favoured spot in the field, usually in pairs, showing off their acrobatic talents. Today the atmosphere was different. Clearly not yet paired up, four or five birds persistently dive bombed, harassed and attacked each other. Oblivious to my presence, I witnessed relentless, vicious attacks interspersed with showy display flights.

Lapwings are strange but beautiful looking creatures. They have incredibly broad wings and are barely recognisable as wading birds. In the air they can bear a resemblance to hawks or crows, or look like nothing else on earth. They are skilled and showy fliers, playing with the air like a kite.

I don’t know, but I’m guessing that these were all males. Either the males pick and defend a territory, or the females were keeping their heads down and preparing to choose the best combatants for mates. Certainly the displays I’ve witnessed later in the breeding season hold less aggression and more showmanship.

I took my leave after twenty minutes, my hands turned numb with cold, but the fighting was showing no sign of abating. In the background skylarks were chattering away: a much more genteel way of demonstrating breeding fitness.

More photos on flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/yazz2/sets/72157626130557363/

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in birdwatching, Out and about and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lapwing Wars

  1. Joanna says:

    Thank you for such an interesting post. I love your photos too.

  2. Val Erde says:

    Great photos and you’re so lucky to be able to watch lapwings. I’ve only ever seen one, here, strutting about in a field by itself.

  3. I enjoyed your description of the Lapwings Yasmine. ‘Bicycle pump’. Yes, I hear it now. They’re beautiful birds, we have them up at Moor House in numbers during spring and summer. I love the crest on the males. Unfortunately their numbers are less than half they were 10 years ago. Great pictures.

  4. Yasmine says:

    Thanks everyone
    Keith: I’m glad you got the ‘bicycle pump’ description. I’ve been struggling to describe the sound since I first heard lapwings displaying a couple of years ago. I’m sure there’s an old fashioned toy that uses a pump action to make a more musical sound, but I can’t remember what it’s called, it’s hard to find the words to describe!

Leave a Reply

