Nearly famous…

I’ve always been artistic, but when digital photography came along (I mean became affordable) I found myself picking up my camera more and my pencil less.

I’ve had a digital SLR for 15 months now (thanks for the loan Dad!) and I think my photos are getting better, although I really don’t know as much as I should.

Anyway, getting to the point: last week I had a double whammy. Fame (kind of) at last!

First off, the BTO published my cheeky tree sparrow photo in the spring issue of Bird Table magazine (it’s on page 11 if you have a copy). My first photo to make it in print!

Then I find out I’ve come second in my first ever photography competition!!! Admittedly it’s a very local competition – run by the Sherburn Hill History Club – and there was no prize, only the glory, but hey, I’ll take the win.

And not bad considering this was the only eligible photo in my collection.

What shall I try next..?

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nearly famous…

  1. Well done Yasmine, looks like you found a hobby that might even return a few pennines. I think both pictures are wonderful.

  2. Val Erde says:

    Both are beautiful! And that bird is sooo cute! Well done, too!
    🙂
    Sorry I’ve not been to visit recently – bogged down with things.

  3. Pingback: Versatile blogger | Absurd Old Bird

Leave a Reply

