Independence day

Today was independence day for this greater spotted woodpecker. For the last couple of weeks the garden has been visited by the adults, checking out the area for easy food sources. This morning an adult and juvenile were repeatedly visiting the peanut feeder, then in the afternoon the youngster returned on its own, and settled down first at the feeder and then in the lilac tree for a preen and snooze. This post is more pictures than words. Click on an image to view large.

Attacking the peanuts:

 

Snoozing and preening:

And of course, I can’t neglect the tree sparrows…

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in birdwatching, In the garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Independence day

  1. Alice says:

    Great pics!! So perhaps I can still hope that this little bit further north and higher, my woodpeckers might reappear this year. I’ve been missing them. My birthday’s soon, and the best birthday present ever was looking out of an upstairs window to see the adult male and three juveniles on the bird table!!!!

  2. Yasmine says:

    Thanks Alice. I hope yours turn up soon! They’re such striking birds

  3. Beautiful photos as always. We’ve never had a woodpecker, but fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

