Stanhope Show 2011

Stanhope Show is an agricultural and equestrian show held on the second weekend of September at Unthank Farm, just the other side of the river from Stanhope village in Weardale, County Durham. Last year I went for the first time and this year I managed to make it for the Saturday. Sadly, our public transport system has been ravaged by Government cuts so with no Sunday bus service I could not make the Sunday this year (yes, there is a heritage train, but the connections were awful).

It’s a small show, but the surroundings are to die for, and there’s a fun fair in the evening if you like that sort of thing. Our entertainment this year came from Stallions of Substance and Bolddog Lings Freestyle Motorcycle Team. There was poetry in that both displays consisted of two riders showing off their mounts and their skills. Stallions of Substance showed off their circus tricks and dressage moves. Bolddog Lings treated us to jaw-dropping freestyle mid air stunts.

Stallions of Substance in action. As part of their display, one rider 'shoots' the other rider, whose horse lays down playing dead. I'm very proud of this pic, as I've caught the gun firing.

Bolddog Lings display team in action. You know there's always a guy with a microphone explaining what's going on? You're looking at him!

There was show ring action from the showjumping and Welsh in hand, and the day ended with Sulky racing.

A Welsh Section D stallion having his picture taken

Sulky racing

More photos from this year’s and last year’s shows are on flickr. Enjoy!

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Out and about. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stanhope Show 2011

  1. My wife aka ‘The Gingerbread Mam’ was due to have a stall at the show but other commitments got in the way. Looked like it was fun. Great shots BTW.

    • Yasmine says:

      Thanks Keith. I was really gutted to miss the Sunday as I love watching the carriage driving and I think they had a jousting display. I’ll look out for the Gingerbread Mam – I follow her on twitter but didn’t realise you were together!! Your house must smell wonderful

  2. Like a bakery and too much cake always on the go.

Leave a Reply

