Goodbye and hello

Tomorrow I move house. I’ve lived here for two and a half years, and many of my posts are set from my office window, garden or local area.

I’ve really enjoyed living here. There’s lots I will miss: the view, the quiet, and the birds. I’ve been privileged to share my garden with a large colony of tree sparrows. These rare little birds are only found in about three percent of British gardens, so the chances are that I will not have that privilege again. But who knows what the future will bring? Our next house will be a short term rent, but the house after that… well, we’ll see.

So where am I moving to? The plan is to move to the Durham Dales, just as soon as the right house turns up. For the next six months I’ll be living in the market town of Crook. It’s about twelve kilometres from Durham, but only eight kilometres from Wolsingham, the closest Weardale village. I’ll be a townie, but I’ll be closer to the more interesting County Durham countryside.

I’ve also bitten the bullet, passed my driving test and bought a car. Driving is something I’ve never wanted to do, but it’s hard to live out in the middle of nowhere without a vehicle.

All this change feels a bit scary, but hopefully it will be fun too. Next time I’ll tell you all about my new local patch.

Until then, here’s the view I’ve had for the last couple of years:

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goodbye and hello

  1. Keith Palmer says:

    I know Crook well, nearly moved to the outskirts about 10 years ago when we lived in Croxdale, also just outside Durham. I too hate driving, but the independence will be life changing. Looking forward to more Muddytracks posts.

Leave a Reply

