Very excited

Tomorrow (unless Amazon is lying to me) I get my new computer monitor. The one I’m reading these words on now is about 6 years old, maybe older. Cutting edge at the time, it’s hopelessly outdated now. Not very good if a major hobby is photography.

I don’t like getting new stuff if the old stuff still works, but I realised I had a problem when I looked at my flickr stream from a different computer. Some of the images looked completely different, and I’d spent ages tweaking them in photoshop. Some looked better than I’d thought, but others worse.

The irony is that my new monitor is half the price of my old one, but should be about five times better. Shouldn’t speak too soon I suppose…

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Very excited

  1. Lucy Greenfield says:

    I *so* know what you mean about not throwing things away if they aren’t actually broken! Years ago my niece Danu moaned about my iron! I couldn’t see anything wrong with it (because I don’t use it haha) then Bobby somehow managed to actually break it! Bought a new ‘pink’ breast cancer one! wow! what a difference! My old one was about 20 years old (no wonder i never wanted to use it!). I replaced my laptop last year (then had old one mended) photographs look so much darker on the new one for some reason! Hope your new screen arrives tomorrow and that you’ll have years of joyful photography-uploading with it!

    • Yasmine says:

      Glad it’s not just me Lucy! It’s not just my monitor. I’ve finally found a reason to buy a new hairdryer as my old 10+year one has started cutting out. Technology has moved on so much – my new hairdryer can dry my long hair in just a few minutes – but I’m glad I waited until my old one actually gave up the ghost.

Leave a Reply

