Let’s get rid of British Summer Time

I’ve always hated it when the clocks change. I’ve had many Springs and Autumns to dwell on these two evil days. This year I decided I won’t simmer in silence, but I’ll share with you, dear reader, why I want British Summer Time (BST) to go away.

  1. They lied to us. As a child I was told that BST was brought in during the war to help farmers harvest the crops. This is actually an urban myth (the real reasons are more complex – Daylight Saving has a convoluted history, and one proponent was merely keen to extend his evening golf – see this Wikipedia entry). A little bit of common sense sees through this of course – farmers work all daylight hours if they have to. Modern farmers even work through the night if there are crops to bring in.
  2. We do not gain any extra daylight. This is such a no brainer it pains me to spell it out. But every year otherwise-intelligent people explain that we’re getting an extra hour of daylight. We are not. …unless someone’s subverting the laws of physics every year.
  3. Tourism doesn’t need it. Another argument I hear is that tourists will flock to the UK/enjoy outside evening entertainment because of the extra hour of daylight. I’ll not deny that in the Spring and Autumn our evenings do appear lighter (but only because we waste the morning daylight by being asleep). By May though we have more than enough light in the evening.
  4. I get very grumpy. Although we pretend to be detached from nature we are all attuned to the rhythms of the seasons. Suddenly losing/gaining an hour makes me grumpy, tired and irritated. It feels as bad as jet lag.
  5. Think about the poor animals. At least we humans understand what is happening. Those poor dairy cows that have to wait an extra hour to be milked do not.
  6. And the witches. How annoying must it be incanting your midnight spells when it isn’t actually midnight? The fairies/sprites/spirits won’t arrive for another hour (unless they adopt British Summer Time too).
  7. I’m bloody minded, and I want noon to be noon, midnight to be midnight.
  8. If people want longer evenings, they should bloody well get up earlier and finish work earlier.

"But farmers need the extra light!" No they don't

OK, rant over (for now). If people start kicking off about ‘all year BST’ I may be tempted to finish my list in the autumn.

Think of the animals!

Normal service will resume shortly.

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Essays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Let’s get rid of British Summer Time

  1. Brian Pears says:

    Can’t see witches, ghoulies, fairies, sprites etc using BST or, indeed, GMT, as both are man-made. They will use local midnight – midway between two successive local noons, ie the times when the sun’s elevation is a maximum. It will vary with longitude, so nimble witches with high-speed broomsticks can do their stuff in the east of the country, then head west and catch another midnight there.

  2. Yasmine says:

    Darn, I hadn’t thought of that! I’ll watch out for the high-speed broomsticks from now on.

  3. Paul Hyde says:

    Interesting read how do I ‘like’ the post?!?!

    • Yasmine says:

      Hi Paul. Glad you like it. I think you need to have a WordPress account to use the ‘like’ button – probably only worth it if you read a lot of WordPress blogs (or if you want to start a blog of course)

  4. Pingback: Welcome back GMT | Muddy Tracks

Leave a Reply

