Happy Solstice 2012!

It is 20 June 2012 and the summer solstice.

Here is where I confess that 1) I thought the solstice was tomorrow and 2) I slept in until 8.00am, only missing sunrise by about four hours.

Anyway, I reckon solstice eve still counts as being special. Yes?

Here are some lovely midsummer photos I took on solstice eve, i.e. last night. It felt like I had the whole world to myself. Something to do with European football meant everyone had to stay at home or something. I appeared to be exempt and was able to escape the football curfew.

Pretty, aren’t they? Click on the photos to view large.

Dad is having a snooze and babysitting the foals hidden in the grass

The mares decide it’s time for everyone to get up

Dad resolutely sticks to snoozing while everyone else heads off to investigate the thing that has caught the mares’ attention

Thanks for reading, and Happy Solstice!!!

 

 

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Out and about and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Solstice 2012!

  1. Lovely pics Yasmine – Bright Blessings and Happy Solstice!

Leave a Reply

