Girl on a bus

A very short story #1:

The bus is busy with mothers and children. The young girl in front of me fidgets next to her brother. She has pale hair but dark skin. Her brother’s hair is even lighter and he has freckles. I wonder if she is a half caste like me, or if she has just been out in the sun.

I read my book. I become aware of an intense stare coming from the girl. I look up, smile and then return to my book. She continues to stare.

I chuckle to myself: children are so curious, but don’t know the social taboos about making eye contact with strangers. She’ll learn. Then I realise: I’m just as curious about her as she is about me.

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Girl on a bus

  1. Keith Palmer says:

    I was on the bus with you.

Leave a Reply

