Lonely horse

A very short story #2:

The little black horse stands alone in an untidy field by a busy road. I see her every day as I walk past her field on my way to work. She often stands by the gate, and welcomes strokes and carrots from passers by.

Today there is another horse in the field – a mare with her foal at foot. The lonely horse stands back, shunning the newcomers. The new mare keeps her distance too. The filly foal stands between them and calls out to the black mare: play with me! Please. The little black horse ignores her.

Three horses, alone in the same field.

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

