Living the dream

Five years ago My Taller Half and I hatched a plan. Recovering from a glorious backpacking holiday in Wales, we watched one of those endless daytime TV property programmes and the penny dropped – if we moved out of the South East we could afford to live anywhere we wanted. Our Five Year Plan house was conceived.

Our path was not exactly smooth, but four years ago we upped sticks and moved to Durham, and last month we collected the keys for our Five Year Plan house in Wolsingham. OK, it’s not exactly the same as the line drawing I had framed five years ago that proudly hangs above our TV, but it’s close enough.

Wolsingham churchyard

Wolsingham is a beautiful village that sits at the head of the snake that is Weardale, the Pennine fells rising on either side. We are at a comfortable 136 metres above sea level, but the fells surrounding us quickly peak at over 300 metres, and we are at the low end of the Dale. I’m expecting to see snow every winter.

The view from my office

In between unpacking, I’ve been avidly watching the London Olympics, and was touched by the trackside interview of Samantha Murray, the final GB medal winner. She said that anyone can achieve anything they want if they set their mind to it – you can be an ordinary person and succeed. I don’t have any olympic ambitions, but five years ago I had a dream, and this year, right on track, that dream became real.

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Living the dream

  1. Alice Bondi says:

    So glad your plan has come to fruition – and I, too, was really impressed by Sam Murray, just 22 years old and able to give such wisdom. Of course, the most difficult task is probably deciding just what it is you really want to do….

    • Yasmine says:

      You’ve hit the nail on the head Alice! In a way we’ve been lucky to have such a clear goal for so long. Need to have a think now about where (metaphorically) we want to be in another five years…

  2. Clive Elsdon says:

    Welcome to Wolsingham Yasmine! I hope you’re settling in well and enjoying the new house! One thing that you need to discover is The Black Lion PH, if you have not already done so… Real Ales on Tap and a good traditional pub. It’s the Oldest Pub in Weardale I’m told and also the only one that isn’t on the main street / road. The reason for that is that it was when it was built… but the main street relocated. One small technicallity though, whilst hard to believe, this “beautiful village” is actually a Town… 😉

    • Yasmine says:

      Thanks Clive. Wolsingham is lovely. Village suits it better even if that’s wrong!! We’re in a pretty good place for pubs, all beginning with ‘Black’… Now I think of it, lots of Weardale pubs start with B – Black Lion, Black Bull x2, Bonny Moorhen, Bay Horse. There’s a pub crawl in there somewhere 🙂

  3. Well done Yasmine, I think you have just won your ‘Gold’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

