Coming round for dinner

New house, new garden. I’m still getting to know my new avian neighbours. House sparrow, chaffinch, blackbird, siskin, wren, robin, blue tit, coal tit… the garden is constantly abuzz. Well not today it isn’t, as I’ve had a special dinner guest come round.

Until about five minutes ago I only had one bird in the garden – an immature male sparrowhawk. About two hours ago I spotted this fella sitting under the hedge, tucking into what looked like an immature dunnock. We’re having dismal weather today, and my windows are not the cleanest, so apologies for the poor quality of the shot.

Dinner time

This is the first time I’ve had the opportunity to watch a sparrowhawk eating. He was clearly enjoying his meal, taking his time and savouring every mouthful. I’m not going to give you the details though – some things are best not dwelt on.

After watching him for 15 minutes or so I had to dash off for a work teleconference. I was sure he would be gone by the time I finished, but I still felt disappointment when I saw he wasn’t under the hedge. Then I spotted him happily and hopefully sitting under the bird feeder.

hoping for seconds

He could be naively hopeful of catching a second meal, but I like to think he’s contentedly digesting his meal while looking forward, in that self-satisfied way shared by all predators, to his next meal. I was reminded of a cat sleeping on top of an aviary or lazily watching a goldfish swimming in its bowl.

“where have all those yummy birdies gone?”

As I started writing this post he was still sitting under the bird feeder. I’m sure he’d still be there now, but the postie has just been round and scared him away. I’m happy that he’s visited, but I hope this dinner guest doesn’t come round too often. The garden is a lot quieter without its usual crowd.

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in birdwatching, In the garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Coming round for dinner

  1. Interesting post, It was very entertaining to read. I thought the Sparrowhawk was very cute 🙂

  2. I can see why your ‘usual’ dinner guests made a sharp exit! Still, it’s all part of nature, and everything has its place if only as a snack for a sparrowhawk!

  3. One of the Collared Doves in our garden went by way of the raptor early this year. Love your posts Yasmine. I think you should buys some hens.

  4. Often I find only the feet of blackbirds in our garden. Very sad and depressing although nature has its way. I always enjoy visiting your blog. Must remember to follow you so I know when you’ve posted.

Leave a Reply

