Life Sentence

We didn’t plan to get a puppy for Xmas and then call her Holly. It just happened that way.

We did plan to get a puppy. The fact that we picked her up just before the Xmas holidays started is pure coincidence. And it was only after we named her Holly that we realised the name has a rather festive ring. The slogan “a puppy is for life, not just for Xmas” is ringing rather loudly in my ears at the moment!

We are not novices to pet keeping, but all the same puppy-rearing has been a shock to the system. Puppies need constant care, attention and supervision. That posh table? Chewed. That china tea cup? Broken. The book you were reading? In shreds. Oh, you thought your garden was puppy-proofed? Wrong.

We’re not doing too badly really. We’ve adapted to life-with-a-puppy. But I think I can now understand why so many puppy-Xmas-presents end up in the dog home. Your kids nag you and nag you. A friend of a friend has an adorable puppy for sale. You bring her home. But she is not a cute toy, her timetable is not your timetable, she bites, she chews, she poos. Everywhere. All the time. You can’t cope. Puppy gets sent away.

Remember folks: a puppy is not just for Xmas. She’s a life sentence.

Happy Xmas!!!

butter wouldn’t melt?

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life Sentence

  1. Zara Hamid says:

    hah ha ha, totally right, enjoy xxxxxxx
    dogs are hard work, if you get stuck watch victoria stillwell in its me or the dog, she’s brilliant, have fun xx

  2. Zara Hamid says:

    p.s, judging by her photo, she looks like trouble, more than your average bear, looks like you are going to have to learn how to control her before she controls you!!!!!

  3. Haha …. lovely dog Yasmine 🙂

    Looks Border Collie to me – The red/white combination is my second favourite BC colour scheme after traditional black/white, though a tri-colour looks good as well, as does a blue merle.

    Oh, they all look great, but I am a BC fan 🙂

  4. Yasmine says:

    Paul, yes she’s a border collie. The photo doesn’t show it, but she’s more brown than red at the moment. She’s just starting to do the border collie stare too.

    Zara, yes she is probably going to be a handful. Train or be trained…

  5. backpackbrewer says:

    fabulous life sentence Yasmine 🙂

    She looks like a little star. As if you didnt need another excuse to get out and do more walking! Hope she is settling in well and doesnt chew too much 😀

    • Yasmine says:

      Ha! Chewing is one of her favourite hobbies at the moment. She hasn’t finished her vaccinations yet, but I’m itching to take her out for walks. Something tells me I’m going to get my fitness up next year, and no need for any New Year Resolutions 🙂

      • backpackbrewer says:

        yes, pups definitely help up the mileage. I am currently walking an average 4-5 miles a day with Barney which is also helping my weight loss!

  6. Yasmine says:

    I’ve started checking out the local walks from a doggie perspective. She’s going to have to learn to climb stiles and ladders :-/

Leave a Reply

