Spring promise

It’s the first day of March, the snow is still clinging to the slopes of Weardale, but boy can you feel the promise of spring around these parts.

Snowdrops are in full bloom. Everywhere, even in fields and on waste ground. Daffodils are preparing to paint the verges cadmium yellow. Hazel catkins are sharing their pollen love. And the birds are singing. And singing. And singing.

This week we have enjoyed some gorgeous daytime sunshine (followed by deep overnight frosts). This unaccustomed warmth tempted at least one bat out to hunt over my garden on the evening of 27 February. February! I’ve never seen a bat out so early (did I say there’s still snow on the hills?).

Holly our border collie puppy heard her first cockerel this morning and decided he needed a canine accompaniment (thanks Holly, I’m sure the neighbours appreciated it).

But the surest sign that spring is in the air is my body clock. For the last few days the alarm clock has been an unnecessary annoyance – something I have to go back upstairs to turn off. This spring fever won’t last, and I’ll soon be sleeping soundly through the dawn chorus, but have no doubts, I promise you that spring is just around the corner.

So what if it snowed after I took this photo? Spring is coming, I promise.

So what if it snowed after I took this photo? Spring is coming, I promise.

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Essays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spring promise

  1. Can’t wait for the return of our spring visitors to arrive, love this season. Nice read mate, cheered me up.

    • Yasmine says:

      Thanks Paul. I love the feeling of anticipation as one season gives way to another. Then again, I really enjoyed the snow! Won’t be long now before everything starts growing again…

  2. backpackbrewer says:

    March! I love the start of March….its the promise of lighter days and long walks.

    Perfick ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yasmine says:

      I’m starting to get that camping itch with the lighter mornings and evenings. Not sure Holly’s ready to be introduced to a tent just yet though. She’s already scratched the car ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. It’s good to have spring just around the corner …. but I’ll not put my winter woolies away just yet Yasmine ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yasmine says:

      I’m feeling optimistic, but then again early spring started off well last year, and best not dwell on what happened to spring and summer…

  4. Zara Hamid says:

    how comes you got spring so early? i live on the south coast and we have the odd snowdrop and crocus but not one daff in bloom yet, the cold of winter has not loosened its grip on us yet, enjoy your spring while you can, there are rumours of a long cold winter down here and possibly no sign of spring for at least a couple more weeks xxx

  5. Zara Hamid says:

    p.s is that a wolf you are growing not a dog?

    • Yasmine says:

      I had to convince someone today that she really is a border collie. We’re supposed to get spring at least two weeks later up here, so not sure what’s happened your end. I’ll just enjoy our lovely spring weather while you have our winter ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

