Um, happy equinox

Today is the vernal equinox. From tomorrow and for the next six months day will beat night in their perennial struggle for supremacy (well, for the Northern Hemisphere anyway). It’s also officially the first day of spring.

Not many people in the UK will be celebrating.

Late February and early March whispered much about the promise of spring. Now we are facing April and that promise feels like a distant dream.

There is nothing unusual about finding lingering snow patches in Weardale until late into spring, but this March has turned from teasing sunlight to bitter, relentless snow. I don’t think I’ve ever experienced snow on the equinox before. Today’s blizzards were not Winter’s fleeting kiss goodbye, but a promise of more to come.

Normally I love snow, but I really want winter to go away now. Come back spring. Please…

The view from my window this afternoon. If you zoom in you'll see the snow. Did you know it's the spring equinox today?

The view from my window this afternoon. Did you know it’s the spring equinox today?

 

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Um, happy equinox

  1. I love winter mountaineering and hill walking Yasmine, but I have to admit that the Northeast of England seems to have had more than it’s fair share of snow this year – can we have a bit more in North Wales please 🙂

Leave a Reply

