Solstice musings

Today is the winter solstice. For the next six months it will get a little bit lighter every day. Hurray!

My poor blog has been terribly neglected this year. I can’t believe my last post was in July. Sorry blog 😦

So what have I been doing that’s kept me away from writing? Nothing that isn’t just an excuse. I’ve lost the two hours every day when I usually just muck about on the computer, and it’s in those two hours that a blog post is going to get written (if at all). The reason? That will be the dog walking.

I also have an allotment to attend to. I can’t really blame the allotment after the autumn equinox though. Digging in the dark is a fairly hit and miss affair.

What other reasons? It’s not the photography – that’s suffered too. I’m still taking photos, but have a longggg processing backlog. I’ll catch up. One day.

My final time-sucker is a local walking group I’ve got more and more involved with. I now spend two Saturdays every month planning or attending guided walks, and I look after the website (and now the twitter account). I’m also the group photographer. Check us out – we’re the Wolsingham Wayfarers.

So is there one stand-out reason for me not writing? I’m really proud of my blog, but I think with one thing and another I’ve let my attention slip. My blog doesn’t shout at me if I stop feeding it. With twice-daily dog walks my outdoor experiences have become a bit routine. I never have photographs ready to share while they are fresh enough to blog about…

But I won’t give this up. I’ll keep blogging. I just need to kick myself a bit harder and a bit more often. Catch you later. Hopefully not too much later.

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Solstice musings

  1. I have a similar problem Yasmine, too many things to do and not enough time! Your posts are always worth waiting for, so perhaps go for quality rather than quantity.

Leave a Reply

