Small and perfectly formed

The show season in Weardale is well and truly on. Tomorrow is the start of Wolsingham Show (oldest agricultural show in England) and next week is the turn of Stanhope. Last week I made my first ever visit to the Weardale Show in St John’s Chapel.

Weardale instantly became my favourite agricultural show. No queueing for parking, spacious, friendly, extremely dog-friendly, generally very laid back, and very very welcoming. This is a small show in Upper Weardale, with an emphasis on local livestock showing. To be honest, I was expecting it to feel cliquey and local (in the Royston Vasey sense). Well, I was wrong, so I apologise: sorry Weardale Show.

The Weardale Show was an opportunity to try out two things – my new macro lens, and Holly’s de-stress training. Holly excelled herself. She is newly obsessed with smelling other dogs’ scent messages, and once we were passed the car park (Cars! Let me round up the cars! Pleeaase let me round up the cars!) she was happy checking out all those doggy messages. She also got to wear her new de-stress T-shirt. Whether it works or not, who can say, but she loves having it put on (and this is a dog that will attempt to take your arm off if you even think of examining her).

If you find yourself in the area next August, you could do worse than popping in to the Weardale Show. Maybe I’ll see you there?

WeardaleShow-8140

WeardaleShow-8154

WeardaleShow-8122

WeardaleShow-8129

WeardaleShow-8180

WeardaleShow-8212

After a long break (aka sulk) I’ve started posting stuff to flickr again. There are more Weardale Show photos here.

 

 

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Out and about and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment