Goodbye 2014, hello 2015

What have I been up to in 2014? Obviously not blogging (sorry blog). The Wolsingham Wayfarers have taken up a lot of my attention. I’m the ‘official’ walks photographer, and I manage the website, twitter and facebook page. Just google Wolsingham Wayfarers if you want to take a look.

The other thing that’s been taking my attention is the house. We’ve had a new boiler, new kitchen, floor tiles put in, and a wood burning stove installed this year. There’s still lots to do, but we’re getting there.

The allotment is ticking along but still needs love. My fruit trees are establishing, I’ve dug out the old raspberries and replaced them, and I have more kale and sprouts than even the chickens can eat. I have clubroot (boo, hiss) and the soil is pretty exhausted. I must get some more manure on the plot.

Holly is still a mad border collie, but she is starting to calm down now she’s two. She is starting to make doggie friends and is better at travelling, but still has a bad car/jogger/cyclist/cow obsession: as far as she is concerned, they are all dangerous and must be chased off. She adores the beach, so more trips to the seaside next year.

In the garden, it’s been a good year for tree sparrows. I now have a flock of around 30 visiting daily. They mingle with the rather larger population of house sparrows, and Vine House Farm are doing very well out of it (sparrows love the finch mix). I think the chaffinch and greenfinch populations have crashed locally due to the trichomonosis disease. Hardly see any these days. It hasn’t all been rosy with my chickens either, as Rowan and Hazel died this year. Willow and Ivy are currently thriving and rule the garden.

That was 2014. What about next year? I’ve decided that 2015 is going to be all about my photography.

I’m going to:

  • redress the balance between taking photos for the Wayfarers and taking photos for me. It’s really the processing that takes up the time, so I’m going to buy myself a nice little digital camera to take photos on Wayfarers walks and for dog walking
  • take fewer, but more considered photos with my DSLR camera
  • get back into Flickr in earnest
  • start printing my images

What’s going to happen to my blog?

I’ve been really neglecting Muddy Tracks for the last couple of years. I love writing, but just never seem to have the time. I may have to give in and get a laptop or tablet so I can write in front of the TV. I’ll try to be good. You are allowed to nag me.

That’s it. Let’s hope that 2015 is better for everyone than 2014 was.

Snowy day in Weardale. More snow please!

Snowy day in Weardale. More snow please!

Holly at Blackhall Rocks. Expect to see more photos like this in 2015

Holly at Blackhall Rocks. Expect to see more photos like this in 2015

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Goodbye 2014, hello 2015

  1. Have a great year in 2015 Yasmine.

  2. Yasmine says:

    Thanks Paul – you too!

  3. Jon Storey says:

    Consider yourself nagged at!! Have a good year.

Leave a Reply

