Best laid plans

Winter 2012/13 was pretty amazing (if you like snow). When I look back at the photos I took, from December through to early April almost every photo features the white stuff. It was also memorable because border collie Holly joined us in December, and her first ventures beyond the garden gate were snow-crusted. Holly loved snow.

Winter 2013/14 was a bitterly disappointing one. Autumn weather never really left us, and snow showers were fleeting. One of Holly’s toys had survived puppyhood, and I’d been harbouring a secret ambition to get a shot of her running in the snow with the same toy she loved so much as a puppy.

Holly in March 2013, playing with Blue Rope in the snow

Holly in March 2013, playing with Blue Rope in the snow

This week has seen our first decent snowfall of Winter 2014/15. I dug out Blue Rope (all Holly’s toys are named. We have forgotten some of them, but Holly hasn’t). Holly refused to play with it. If there is snow on the ground, it’s now snowballs or nothing. No negotiation.

So I’m still waiting to get my shot. In the meantime, here’s Holly catching a snowball.

Holly catching a snowball, photo taken yesterday

Holly catching a snowball, photo taken yesterday

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Best laid plans

  1. Great pics of Holly 🙂

Leave a Reply

