Murmurings

It started a couple of weeks ago. First a trickle, then a torrent. Starlings are on the move and a large number of them have decided that Wolsingham is a great place to hang out. And I get a ringside seat.

Starlings gather to roost in large numbers over the autumn/winter period. Before they settle they spend up to an hour flying together in fluid flocks known as murmurations.

I’m guessing that the starlings roosting in Wolsingham right now are gathering before heading off to their spring breeding grounds – they certainly didn’t winter here. Why they’ve chosen Wolsingham and how the newcomers know where to turn up I have absolutely no idea, but I’m not going to miss this photographic opportunity, especially as all I have to do to get the best view is open my window.

So for the last week or so, I’ve taken every opportunity to capture this spectacle, and I’ve even started getting creative (aka arty-farty) with my shots. Take a look for yourself. Unless they all decide to bog off tomorrow, consider this a work in progress.

A photo from each day I’ve been photographing:

starling-3996

At first they arrived in small numbers

Only a small murmur, but making interesting shapes

Only a small murmur, but making interesting shapes

starling-4794

Experimenting with black and white now

Getting a closer look

Getting a closer look

Going all arty-farty

Going all arty-farty

A step too far?

A step too far?

For more photos, check out my Starling Murmuration flickr album

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in birdwatching, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

