Brexit

I try not to be political here, but I want to share this letter I’ve just sent to my MP. Feedback from My Taller Half was along the lines of ‘you could have worded that more strongly’, to which I replied that he should write his own letter. If you are a UK citizen, please consider writing to your MP too.

Dear Pat Glass MP

I am writing to urge you to hold the Government to account during next week’s Article 50 debate, and vote with your conscience, not the Labour whip.

I am appalled at the abuse of democracy that both the Government and Opposition have been displaying since the Country narrowly voted to leave the EU. The Government made no plan against losing the referendum, are pursuing a hard Brexit with no mandate, and have wasted millions of pounds in its unsuccessful pursuit to deny Parliament the right to debate and vote on the Article 50 notification. On the other side, the Labour leadership have applied a three line whip to vote with the Government to trigger Article 50. This puts Labour in a terribly weak position when holding the Government to account. On Radio 4 yesterday, Diane Abbott referred to the referendum result as the only reason for pursuing this policy, despite the increasing evidence that Brexit is likely to do great harm to the very voters who thought that they were voting to bring back £350 million a week to the NHS. This very quickly turned out to be a total lie by the Leave campaign to the electorate.

I will not ask you to vote to reject Brexit, although I hope that you do, but please make up your own mind, based on what is right for your constituents and the country, rather than blindly follow both front benches.

Regards,

Yasmine

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brexit

  1. ayomtov says:

    Excellent letter, Yasmine, with which I wholeheartedly concur. My MP being a loyal Tory, there is little purpose in my writing to him, sadly – he has never, ever voted against his leader. I hope others with Labour MPs follow your example.

  2. Beth Bell says:

    Great Yasmine! Could not have said it any better. You inspire me … I am going to write to the local MP too!! Well done to you.

  3. AlanR says:

    There were lies and mis information on both sides. In fact the arguments for and against were appalling considering the size of the decision. Unlike yourself I voted out. Nothing at all to do with what Farage and Johnson were spinning or the £350 million. I believe that the EU is holding the UK back, that’s a short statement but for this comment it’s enough. That’s democracy and my choice. The faster we get out, tough brexit or not the better we will be, in my opinion of course.

Leave a comment