Hello 2017

2016 did not go entirely to plan. By the end of 2015 I was pretty sure that I wanted to take photography to the next level. I got myself a portfolio and dared to start thinking about selling my photos. Then I got stuck.

I blame my sister Zara. I commissioned her to install a mosaic panel during the Easter holidays. She left all her spare tiles and grout behind, and supervised my first attempt at a mosaic.

My sister’s amazing mosaics:

My first mosaic, and a more recent (slightly better) one:

The next month I dug out my pen and ink set (from an aborted attempt at calligraphy – I just do not have the patience) and gradually my creative energy became channelled into creating mosaics and pen and ink drawings (mainly winter trees, an extension to my winter tree photography obsession). When faced with a pretty view or dramatic skyline, instead of mourning the lost opportunity because I’d left my camera behind, I simply enjoyed the view. Any photographer will tell you that this is simply wrong.

On the left is one of my early pen and ink drawings. The bottom right one is my favourite so far:

It didn’t take long to start drawing horses:

It’s the last day of 2016, and this afternoon has been spent setting up a gallery of my framed pen and inks and my mosaics. I really didn’t see this coming a year ago, so I’m not even going to guess what I’ll be doing this time next year.

My gallery. Shout out to North Pennine Studios who did all the framing (including Zara’s mosaics)

Happy New Year!

About Yasmine

After working with horses for many years I came to my senses and got a 'proper job'. I now live in Weardale with My Taller Half, a mad border collie and 5 chickens. Still wishing I could spend all my time in the great outdoors
This entry was posted in art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello 2017

  1. Hi Yasmine, I repeat (if I’ve said it before) that you’ve easily got the best named blog I read. I love the ideal of rural living and you capture it perfectly. Good luck in whatever you focus on in 2017, hopefully a few more posts but whenever they appear I read them immediately! X

  2. Eleanor Anderson says:

    Jasmine…though i may be sad that you have moved from photography, as I really enjoyed your photos, I LOVE your pen and ink art!!!!!! (Especially the one of the three horses and your final tree drawing). I can’t wait to see what you share over the coming year. Best Wishes for the new year! Eleanor

  3. Dawn says:

    You are very talented Yasmine. Beautiful photographs, stunning mosaics and lovely drawings! If you fancy a get together to teach me mosaics, I’d be very interested! Best wishes for 2017, Dawn (The Renovation Game and http://www.dawnboothwilson.com)

  4. Yasmine says:

    Hi Dawn. I didn’t realise I was following you twice! I’m still practicing the mosaics at the moment, but yes, I’d be happy to meet up once I’ve got a few more under my belt

Leave a comment